Only 10 Sleeps 'Til Christmas

Hey there my Freedom Seeking Friend,

Only 10 sleeps until Christmas! (Maybe 11 depending where you are in the world).

We’ll be here in Phuket for Christmas, engaging in our usual routine of a sausage sizzle & a swim at the beach Christmas morning!

Last Christmas around 6.30am - Andaman Sea - Phuket

Although we’re off for a few days in Wintry Tokyo first! 🥶

More on that below, here’s what’s in store for you today!

  1. Nomadic Know-How: A Fun Trivia Challenge!

  2. Working Traveller News - Winter Fun is Coming

  3. Would You Stay Here? - Bubbles in Chiang Rai

  4. Did You Know? - Some Travel Trivia

  5. Financial Freedom on the Fly - Zero to $10k Etsy Challenge

  6. Community Corner - Take This Weeks Poll!

Nomadic Know-How: A Fun Trivia Challenge!

I thought we’d start with a fun quiz;

What city is known as the 'Digital Nomad Capital' of the world?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Answer at the bottom of the newsletter!

Working Traveller News

We’re off to Tokyo!

Come tomorrow morning, my daughter and I will be heading off for a fantastic 5-day winter adventure to see the Christmas illuminations in and around Tokyo, which apparently are pretty amazing!

Having lived in Thailand for a number of years, I reckon my blood has thinned so it’s going to be pretty darn cold, but we’ve packed our thermals and are looking forward to lights everywhere, fireworks displays, German themed Christmas markets and of course Disneyland! (My daughter and I love theme parks).

I look forward to sharing our journey on the FB page, so keep an eye out for photos, updates, and some tips for a wintry wonderland in Tokyo!

Would You Stay Here?

I thought it would be fun each week to spotlight a cool or unusual hotel/experience or place to visit that could be a potential add to your bucket list!

This week, I’m highlighting;

The Anantara Golden Triangle Jungle Bubbles in Chiang Rai, Thailand.

This extraordinary hotel offers a remarkable experience where guests can stay in transparent bubbles nestled in the lush jungle. Imagine observing the starry night sky, breathtaking greenery, and even families of elephants right from the comfort of your bed!

These luxurious bubbles provide not only an immersive natural experience but also all the comforts of a high-end hotel, including a king-size bed, a living room, and a private bathroom.

I think I’d feel a bit exposed, but would certainly give it a go.

I highly recommend Chiang Rai by the way. The temples there are amazing and it’s a beautiful city to visit. I wish I’d known these bubbles existed when I visited. Never mind, just means I’ll have to go back!

Check out my post about things to do in Chiang Rai - especially the part about the very weird and wonderful Black House. 😮

Did You Know?

That the world's shortest regular commercial flight takes place in Scotland?

It's a brief hop between the Orkney Islands of Westray and Papa Westray. Spanning a mere 1.7 miles, this flight can be as quick as 53 seconds under favorable wind conditions!

Operated by Loganair, this route is not just a record-holder but also a vital link for the residents of these remote islands. (Although couldn’t they just jump in a boat?)

Have you been? Let me know if you have, I’d love to hear your experience!

Financial Freedom on the Fly: Zero to $10k Etsy Challenge

I’ve long been fascinated by print on demand. I even started my own Shopify store a couple of years back selling some designs and generated about $500 over a Black Friday weekend.

Unfortunately it cost me more than that to run some ads and at the time my focus was elsewhere so I didn’t pursue it.

But recently I’ve been listening a lot to The Etsy Seller Podcast and have decided in the New Year I’m going to start a Zero to $10k challenge selling on Etsy.

I’m going to give myself 12 months to reach $10/month in revenues, ideally with a 30% - 50% profit margin.

I’ll likely send a separate weekly update on what I’m doing, how I’m doing it and my progress.

Hope this sounds interesting to you. I’ll send more info after Christmas of how you can register your interest to get the extra weekly updates and follow along!

Community Corner: Have Your Say!

This week I’m curious to see what aspect of travel excites you the most.

Cast your vote on the poll below and let's see what drives travel choices the most! Answers will be published in next week’s newsletter.

What Drives Your Travel Choices?

When picking your next destination, what's the key factor for you?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Quiz Answer

A. Chiang Mai, Thailand. 

Chiang Mai has long been favored by digital nomads for its low cost of living, strong internet connectivity, and vibrant expat community, making it an ideal spot for those looking to work remotely while enjoying a rich cultural experience.

That’s All Folks

That’s it from me this week. I hope you’ve enjoyed reading as much as I’ve enjoyed putting it together.

I’m trying various formats so do please use the poll below to let me know what you thought of this weeks newsletter.

Have a fantastic week. I’ll see you next week and in the meantime, live your best life!

Jo 😊 

What did you think of today's newsletter?

Please take a moment to let me know what you thought of today's issue.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.